Botswana Mozambique South Africa Zimbabwe
About Tutorial Glossary Documents Images Maps Google Earth
Please provide feedback! Click for details
Home The River Basin People and the River Governance Resource Management



send a general website comment

report a specific comment about this page



Southern African Development Community Water Sector  

Established in 1980, the Southern African Development Community (SADC) is an international organisation with 15 member states: Angola, Botswana, the Democratic Republic of Congo, Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Seychelles, South Africa, Swaziland, United Republic of Tanzania, Zambia and Zimbabwe (SADC 2010).

The SADC Declaration by the Heads of State or Government of Southern African States was adopted in 1992 and the SADC Treaty came into effect in 1993 (Cillers 1995). The overarching goal of the organisation is to enhance socio-economic development, regional integration and the quality of life of all people in the region.

The SADC Secretariat consists of four Directorates:

  • Food, Agriculture and Natural Resources
  • Trade, Industry, Finance and Investment
  • Infrastructure and Services
  • Social and Human Development

The SADC Water Division, within the SADC Directorate of Infrastructure & Services, is tasked with overall coordination and management of the SADC Water Programme.

The countries of the Southern African Development Community (SADC).
Source: Hatfield 2010
( click to enlarge )



Explore the sub-basins of the Limpopo River

Explore the history, agreement and structure behind LIMCOM

Explore the principles of Integrated Water Resource Management applied to the Limpopo

Tour video scenes along the Limpopo related to Water Governance