Mozambique stretches 2 470 km along the southeast coast of Africa. Within its border 25 large rivers break up the landscape on their way to the Indian Ocean, one of which is the Limpopo River. Mozambique became independent from colonial rule in 1995, following the signing of the Rome Peace Accords. 

An estimated 1.3 million people live in the Limpopo River basin in Mozambique. The majority of the population is found in the province of Gaza, and depending on the definition of an urban area, anywhere from 75 to 93 % of the population living in this province is considered to be rural (FAO 2004). The province on Inhambane also falls in the basin and the average population growth of Inhambane and Gaza provinces is 2.2 % (LBPTC 2010).

Key Indicators and Data

Capital city Maputo
Population (estimate for 2007) 20 366 795
Population in the Limpopo River basin (2007) 1 389 703
Date of independence 1995
Human Development Index (2008) 0,402
172nd out of 182 countries
Access to improved drinking water sources (2006) Urban: 71 %
Rural: 26 %
Access to improved sanitation (2006) Urban: 53 %
Rural: 19 %
GDP (2008/2009 est) US$ 9,85 billion (total)
US$ 938 (PPP-per capita)
Economic Growth Rate (est. 2009) 4,3 %
Primary sectors Agriculture 24 %
Industry 30.6 %
Services 45.3 %
Main exports aluminum, prawns, cashews, cotton, sugar, citrus, timber; bulk electricity
Neighbouring countries Malawi, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Zambia, and Zimbabwe 
Area of land in the Limpopo River basin 79 800 km2
Percentage of the Limpopo River basin 20 %

Sources: Republic of Mozambique (2010), Limpopo Basin Permanent Technical Committee(2010), World Health Organization (2008), International Monetary Fund (2009)Globalis GVU UNEP (2009), World Factbook (2009), BBC Monitoring (2009), UNHDR (2008).


Coat of Arms for Mozambique.
( click to enlarge )